Reviews Print this page

  • “Great food and friendly owners.”

    July 26, 2016

    sandra19952015

    We eat here often and will continue too. This is to me, the best place to eat in Lumberton. There are lots of great dishes to choose from on the menu and you are surely to find something to your liking. The prices are great too.
    The owners are eager to talk to you. My daughter loves to eat here and made this her last destination before she left for basic training. They talked to her and wished her well. I stopped by this week to get my other daughter something to go and asked them to drop a card in the mail to my daughter at basic training and they said they would.
    The owners are not just there for the business, they are there for the people too. I know that it will make my daughters day to get something from her favorite place to eat while she is away. If you haven't eaten here, you must stop in to visit and have a great meal in good company.

  • Absolutely one of my favorite restaurants in town!

    July 3, 2016

    Jennifer R.

    Absolutely one of my favorite restaurants in town! Their cashew chicken is second to none! Thai tea... Amazing!!! I go there as a treat every once in a while. The service is always great and the good is outstanding! I would always recommend this place!

  • Best Thai food I've had in a long time.

    June 29, 2016

    Hop-N-John

    Unassuming store front restaurant that was a wonderful discovery. Best Thai food I've had in a long time.

  • This is a great Thai place...

    June 13, 2016

    Krispy23C

    This is a great Thai place (also the only one in Lumberton). I always order the curry, and it is awesome! The only downside is that they are only open Monday-Friday.

  • Good show and will be back again.

    May 31, 2016

    Bill B.

    Had lunch special and redemption achieved. Ordered "Hot" and it was on point! Cabbage soup was perfectly seasoned and spring rolls were as well. Great service and very reasonably priced lunch that was more than adequate in quantity.

    Good show and will be back again.

  • We eat here at least once a month...

    May 13, 2016

    Sweetaterman

    We eat here at least once a month. We always order medium spice, if anything the spice is inconsistent, sometimes too hot sometimes they forget to put it in. Portions are large (we always split a plate). Service is good and friendly.

  • Get thai food from Thai chili. It's worth it. Every time.

    April 5, 2016

    Sarah S.

    I love Thai food. I could eat it everyday and not get tired of it. EVER. So I was very happy when a Thai restaurant opened in little old Lumberton. I was even more pleased with each visit. I enjoy the spring rolls and the chicken satay appetizers. My ultimate ALL TIME favorite dish to get here is the Pad See Ew or the drunken noodle. (Pad Kee Mao) Both exceptional with wide flat noodles, meat of your choice I always get chicken (other Thai places never get the noodles right. These noodles are what should be used in both dishes traditionally) and a delicious brown sauce and crisp veggies. I love this place. The food is great here. I love the atmosphere. The owners are terrific and friendly as well as the other staff. The restaurant is located in an unassuming strip mall (Old Candy Sue's location) it's a culinary gem and Lumberton is lucky to have such a great place in town. Get thai food from Thai chili. It's worth it. Every time.

  • Always fresh food, friendly staff, and a clean restaurant.

    February 13, 2016

    Ronald T.

    Ordered garlic chicken last night with white rice. Great food as always with just the right spice as requested. So glad to have this gem in this little town. Always fresh food, friendly staff, and a clean restaurant.

  • “Best Thai restaurant in the entire world”

    January 9, 2016

    Davidallenjr

    My wife and I love this place. Even if you think you would not like this food, you have to try it. Restaurant is amazingly clean. Kitchen is immaculate and attention to cleanliness is apparent. Thai curry red or green with chicken is world class. This curry is different than Indian curry. Thai curry is more tropical with coconut, basil, ginger and chili. If you don't like spicey food order it mild. If you have little children they will love sesame chicken or chicken tenders. French fries are awesome. My other favorites are beef pad see ew, chicken drunken noodle, beef pad prik King and Mongolian beef on lunch special. The family that runs it are wonderful, sweet, hardworking and always have a great smile. Thank you for bringing a unique taste to Lumberton .

    If you are coming off highway they have quick service, to get you back on the road and you will visited a diamond in the rough. They are not opened on the weekend FYI.

  • This is one of my fav local eateries...

    July 28, 2015

    Sherry H.

    This is one of my fav local eateries and a must-have when I visit my family in Lumberton. My favs are the Basil Chicken (#43dinner/or #7 lunch special) and the Cashew Chicken.

    Full Article »

  • Authentic Thai food with a good quiet atmosphere.

    July 27, 2015

    Alex L.

    This place is definitely the cats pajamas. Authentic Thai food with a good quiet atmosphere. Go at a weird time or this place could get crowded quick! Great food for a great price. I am very glad this place opened up around here. Much needed and great great woon sen. Please go to this place!

  • I was on a business related trip in Lumberton and was craving Asian food.

    July 21, 2015

    Kat V.

    I was on a business related trip in Lumberton and was craving Asian food. I happened to stumble upon the restaurant.

    Full Article »

  • House fried rice was simply delicious!

    July 10, 2015

    Jackie D.

    House fried rice was simply delicious!  Red Curry as good as any I've had in the big cities.  Friendly staff & comfortable environment.

  • “Excellent food!”

    July 1, 2015

    Puja G.

    This place is amazing for lunch, the owners, and their daughter are such amazing people, and we always enjoy speaking with them and catching up. Their daughter remembers our complicated orders (since we are vegetarian), and we absolutely love that. The food is authentic and delicious. I typically get Pad See Ew with tofu, and my parents get the curries with tofu! Their spring rolls are delicious as well. This is a wonderful little place in a small town. Go check it out!

  • Best Pad Thai and Chicken Fried Rice I have ever eaten.

    June 17, 2015

    Ronald T.

    Stopped in on my way back to Charleston. Best Pad Thai and Chicken Fried Rice I have ever eaten. Better than the Thai restaurants in the Charleston area. Would definitely visit when stopping back through.

  • “Amazing lunch special”

    June 16, 2015

    Cindy C.

    My favorite is ground chicken with basil on white rice at medium hot, which is plenty spicy. The lunch special includes soup (lemon grass is the best), spring roll, and cream cheese wonton. We are fortunate to have this authentic restaurant in Lumberton. It is spotless and the staff is very friendly.

  • Amazing food!

    June 12, 2015

    Yira Villaman

    Amazing food! Great customer service , affordable prices definitely would come again. The green curry was one of the best I've had.

  • “Pad See Ew delight”

    June 10, 2015

    skrieder

    Stopped by Lumberton for the night as we travel done the East Coast and found a wonderful authentic Thai restaurant. I enjoyed one of the best Pad See Ew in a long time. I complimented this with the fresh spring rolls with pineapple sauce. My wife had a very tasty Cashew Shrimp meal and my son enjoyed his Pad Kee Mow with medium hot sauce - he'll go with mild next time. You know it is fresh because it comes out as made - not always the right order - no issue for us. We also enjoyed hot Jasmine tea to calm the stomach. Food is excellent, service a bit sporadic but overall fine. We'll stop again next time we pass through. Overall bill with tip $53.00.

  • Absolutely love this place.

    April 10, 2015

    Michelle Mathis

    Absolutely love this place. My family has been dozens of times since they opened and have never been disappointed

  • This was my second time trying Thai style cooking and I was really impressed!

    March 27, 2015

    Sarah H.

    This was my second time trying Thai style cooking and I was really impressed! I do not eat spicy food, and loved that they give the option to get it without being spicy. I wish I could remember the name of my dish, but it was seasoned with garlic and was delicious. My dish was part of a lunch special and it gave plenty of food and was priced very reasonably. I plan on going back. My boyfriend really enjoyed the curry.

  • Excellen food and affordable!

    February 8, 2015

    Lyn A

    Excellen food and affordable!   Service is good and the place is comfortable.   My favorite place in Lumberton!  I am a vegetarian but my family is not and it is very challenging to find a place to eat in town with more than salad to eat for me!  This place has a great selection for all, including vegetarians.   I am a very happy customer and wish I could go here more often!

  • I was incredibly relieved to find this gem of a Thai restaurant...

    October 19, 2014

    Molly L.

    I was incredibly relieved to find this gem of a Thai restaurant among the cacophony of fried chicken joints that clutter Lumberton. Not a fancy place, but great vegetarian options, friendly service, and reasonably priced for the generous portions. I ordered drunken noodles my first time here and red curry (vegeterian) my second; both fantastic. While not 5 stars by hometown Boston standards, definitely 5 stars for the meals I tried while on business in this area. Bravo.

  • Awesome food. The place is always clean!...

    October 26, 2014

    Mary W.

    Awesome food. The place is always clean! Fast, friendly service every time I go. Really good lunch deals. Cashew chicken is by far the best!

  • Simply delicious good fresh food and pleasant service. Yum!...

    September 30, 2014

    Brends M.

    Simply delicious good fresh food and pleasant service. Yum! A welcome relief from the greasy fare of the highway.

  • This pud thai is what I have been looking for since college...

    September 29, 2014

    Calvin W.

    Great service and food when I stopped by for lunch. This pud thai is what I have been looking for since college in '06! Not until Thai Chili have I been able to find a place that does the sauce right! Thank you!

  • ★★★★★ Third time this week.... enough said

    September 25, 2014

    Amy O.

    ★★★★★ Third time this week.... enough said

  • ...the food was GREAT and Service too...

    September 6, 2014

    Anthony M.

    I ate there this afternoon for first time. Had heard about it and the food was GREAT and Service too. Will be back...Glad you are here.

  • ... it was a pleasant surprise.

    September 3, 2014

    Mark

    Was very surprised to find Thai food in NC but it was a pleasant surprise. We love thai food and even though this restaurant seem to be a bit of an Asian fusion style cooking the food was tasty and the portions were reasonable for the price. I would recommend this place to anyone whom is looking for good tasting Thai food in NC.

  • My first yelp review though I dine out quite often...

    July 21, 2014

    Allen M.

    My first yelp review though I dine out quite often.  I first noticed simplicity of the dining room and genuine welcoming smile of my server.  I eat Thai cuisine somewhat regularly (though no expert by any means) and this strikes me as the type of place that caters both to the locals and those seeking a very authentic Thai dish.  I wasn't feeling super adventurous so I just ordered cashew chicken......which came out in as long as it took me to type that.....wow...I was about to say I knew it would be good before ate, and it is delicious.  Very fresh ingredients,  very generous with cashews....spring rolls simple and delicious.  Also noticed 100% score from health inspection.  Five stars because food exceeded expectations, and for speed of service, authenticity, and friendly staff.

  • ...if you want authentic Thai by all means drive to Lumberton to get it.

    July 7, 2014

    Corey P

    By far this is the best Thai food in the area. I am from Fayetteville and have ate at all the Thai restaurants up there and they don't even compare to the freshness and quality. You can tell they take pride in their work and give you huge portions. I enjoyed my experience and if you want authentic Thai by all means drive to Lumberton to get it.

  • If you are traveling, it takes a little maneuvering to find this gem, but it will be worth it.

    May 17, 2014

    Laura D

    Have eaten in several times and gotten take out a few. If you are traveling, it takes a little maneuvering to find this gem, but it will be worth it. Dishes are prepared to order with fresh ingredients. You choose your spice level when you order. There is a great variety on the menu and everything I have tried has been delicious.

  • A very pleasant surprise in Lumberton...

    May 16, 2014

    Sam C.

    A very pleasant surprise in Lumberton on the way through on I-95.  Good food AND nice people!  They accommodated my request for low-fat, no oil added vegan food and delivered a tasty tofu Panang curry.  My wife's Pad Thai was very good as well.  We will be back!

  • I am so happy this place has come to Lumberton

    May 7, 2014

    bigdogdw

    I am so happy this place has come to Lumberton. They are a great addition to the resturants in Lumberton. I think they make the absolute best red curry Chicken... If they added the fusion feel with some sushi.... it would be a HOME RUN!

  • I stumbled upon Thai Chili using the Local app as I was tired of the same ol chains.

    April 2, 2014

    Jack M

    I stumbled upon Thai Chili using the Local app as I was tired of the same ol chains.
    I first ate there about a month ago, I ordered the Pud Prik King and substituted the fried spring rolls for the fresh spring rolls. I like my Thai spicy and I was happy to hear the response I got when I asked, "how spicy can you make it"? I got the double Thai hot! The spring rolls came out and they were huge and I think maybe too big as I think it may have affected the taste. They were good but I have had better and they seemed to be missing that signature licorice taste I have grown accustomed to. Then the rice made it's way to the tale and I was a little disappointed that it was just rice and not the Jasmine rice. The the main dish made it's way to my table and I could smell the fresh Thai chili sauce, I loaded it up and it was as good as some of the best I ever had. The green beans were a little too done but I can live with that. the chili sauce was delicious and spicy. After I was finished one of the cooks came out and asked how I liked it and we discussed ingredients and such. From what she told me it is all made from scratch.

    Full Article »

  • While on a road trip, we needed to stop with dinner.

    April 2, 2014

    Moderationforme

    While on a road trip, we needed to stop with dinner. The interstate has the usual chain fare, and a local restaurant we had tried on a previous trip that I had no desire to return to. Checking TripAdvisor, I found this place. It was a few minutes off the road, but worth the extra minutes.

    My wife had a fabulous thai omlette. My Lad Nar had too much of a salty gravy for my taste. The owner/chef wasn't present that night, her cousin was, so perhaps that made the difference. The owner's husband was our waiter, which is how we found out these details.

    The strip mall location is nothing special, nor is the ambiance, but the restaurant was probably one of the cleanest I've ever seen.

    We would definitely stop again on a future road trip.

  • Just found this place...

    March 28, 2014

    B Williams

    Just found this place tonight and all I can say is AMAZING. I was missing Thai food since I came to Lumberton about 7 months ago. The Pud Thai is what I got and I recommend it. I got mild but next time I will get medium because I want a little heat. I also got the cheese wontons and they were good as well. Great job!

  • Tasteful and Different

    March 6, 2014

    ccedwards12

    We love Thai Chili. Friendly staff & owners. Very accomodating..& food was great! Nice to have something different in town. We will return again. You can also order online!

  • Love The Food

    February 21, 2014

    AngryHippie

    Tom Kha Gai is a must order! Love the food here. The staff is very friendly. I eat here 5-8 times a month. You can order online as well.

  • Sesame chicken is delicious!!!

    November 26, 2013

    Kelly

    Sesame chicken is delicious!!!

  • What a great little find in this town.

    November 6, 2013

    Karrie W.

    What a great little find in this town. Thai is one of my favorites and this place didn't disappoint. You could tell the ingredients were fresh.

    Full Article »

  • Huge portions...

    November 5, 2013

    acwrightsvillebeach

    I eat Thai food wherever I go and I found this place a short drive from I-95. I gave it a great review because not only was it delicious, but there was no way to eat the HUGE portion of chicken fried rice and red curry we got! Also the spring rolls were the best. I plan to go back soon!

  • In town for medical business...

    November 5, 2013

    mrlchapelhill

    In town for medical business and found this great place to eat on YP.com. Food was incredible and very friendly staff. Large portions, great value. Will definitely come back again when in Lumberton.

  • I look forward to Saturday every week for two reasons.

    September 24, 2013

    Tood N.

    I look forward to Saturday every week for two reasons...College Football and Thai Chili wings.

  • Excellent food and great people...

    September 23, 2013

    James B.

    Everything is very fresh which truly makes a difference. A great selection and new features. Everything fresh and hot.  It's got great choices every day.

    Full Article »

  • I am so happy this place has come to Lumberton.

    September 7, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    I am so happy this place has come to Lumberton. They are a great addition to the resturants in Lumberton. I think they make the absolute best red curry Chicken... If they added the fusion feel with some sushi.... it would be a HOME RUN!

  • Awesome food.....

    August 12, 2013

    Tonja H.

    I've been there twice and the food is great. There's plenty of choices along with some Chinese dishes. Great lunch menu too for the price.

  • Really

    August 12, 2013

    Linda L.

    Really loving your pineapple fried rice ...

  • The fresh spring rolls are ENORMOUS!

    July 14, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    The fresh spring rolls are ENORMOUS! Seems popular with the locals too.

  • “AWESOME THAI FOOD”

    June 27, 2013

    Suze

    My husband & I were traveling north from Florida, stayed at the Comfort Inn in Lumberton (GREAT). They had a flyer for the THAI CHILI and said it was good - we like Thai food so decided to give it a try. We WERE NOT SORRY!!! Small place - sort diner style - OH THE FOOD!!!

    Full Article »

  • Awesome Place!

    June 16, 2013

    Jeff K.

    Great service, the best Thai food and the only Thai food in the area. Will be back!! Small family business with a spacious dining area, fast, great place!! Everything was fresh

  • “Excellent food”

    July 9, 2013

    Richard D.

    We stopped here on our way to Florence and we were very impressed with the food.will surely stop by if we pass by again. Small place in a small town but good food

  • My daughter, grandson and I had a great time...

    July 12, 2013

    Cynthia L.

    I did today!! My daughter, grandson and I had a great time and your staff is so welcoming!! I wish you were closer to exit 22...because I would definitely see you guys OFTEN!!! I tend to forget you are here, because I don't come down Pine St. often. But I am PURPOSING to do better remembering though, because I LOVE your food and have a great time with your staff. Great job!!!!

  • Great food & service!

    July 1, 2013

    Leigh B.

    Great food & service! ! You get a lot of bang for your buck and the best springrolls EVER !!

  • We Had Dinner at Your Restaurant

    June 27, 2013

    Sue R.

    We had dinner at your restaurant last night (June 26) and just wanted to tell you again how much we loved it. We enjoyed the food and loved chatting with you...

     

  • Great food off the menu!!!

    June 20, 2013

    Cindy S.

  • ...definitely try the Thai Chili out

    June 18, 2013

    Michael P.

  • Love Love Love

    May 30, 2013

    Bre H

    Love Love Love

  • Thank you...

    May 11, 2013

    Brittany S.

    Thank you Thai Chilli for supporting the World Language Celebration at Fairmont High School. Your food is absolutely delicious and I look forward to enjoying more.

  • Wanted to try something new

    May 11, 2013

    YP.com

    Wanted to try something new and found this on YP. Great food, great service. If you haven't tried you must do so. Best food around.

  • Amazing food

    May 8, 2013

    Brian G.

    I had some tonight!!! Amazing food

  • Delicious Food

    April 23, 2013

    Patricia H.

    Delicious food and awesome service, will most certainly be back!

  • Great Food!

    April 19, 2013

    Mitchell M.

    Great Food! Great Service!

  • Fantastic

    April 14, 2013

    Norma S

    Stopped and had lunch buffet today. Fantastic! Make sure to try the beef salad dish!

  • Your restaurant is my favorite

    April 6, 2013

    Chris M

    Your restaurant is my favorite...

    Full Article »

  • Amazing

    April 3, 2013

    Casey D

    First time trying this place tonight and we got take out.....amazing!!! Even the spring rolls were still crunchy after being in the box! :) nice to have something different

    Full Article »

  • Never tried Thai before last week

    April 2, 2013

    Phil L.

    Never tried Thai before last week. Had heard lot of good things around about this place.

    Full Article »

  • The food is AWESOME

    April 1, 2013

    Samantha C.

    Show your support for our local restaurants! The food is AWESOME and so is the service. I've never been disappointed!

  • Thank you

    April 1, 2013

    Michael P.

    Thank you for a great meal today as usual

  • Excellent Dessert

    March 16, 2013

    Ron L.

    Excellent dessert...I tried it Friday night and going back for more Sunday

    Full Article »

  • Keep up the good work!!!

    March 15, 2013

    David H.

    love your nice, new and super clean restaurant!

    Full Article »

  • Had Lunch With You Today

    March 1, 2013

    Connie I.

    My son and I had lunch with you today, it was excellent!

  • Five Stars!

    February 16, 2013

    Margie L.

    So thrilled to have finally tried Thai Chili in Lumberton!! Excellent food & service. Great stuff!!! Five stars!

  • Definitely worth stopping for

    January 7, 2013

    Nick A.

    Midway through our long drive up I-95, we saw this place on Yelp and decided to stop and give it a try. The food was really good!

    Full Article »

  • Dining Out: Husband encouraged wife to open Thai Chili restaurant in Lumberton

    January 4, 2013

    The Fayetteville Observer

    Review of Thai Chili in the Fayetteville Oberver's Weekeender

  • That food was amazing...

    December 31, 2012

    Gwen Z.

    That food was amazing...

    Full Article »

  • 5 Stars All The Way

    December 21, 2012

    Ms. Jenita M.

    5 Stars all the way! Very good food! I was amazed at the flavor...

    Full Article »

2101-D N Pine Street
Lumberton, NC 28358 (910) 739-3415

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Yelp
  • Urbanspoon
  • Foursquare

        Free Wi-Fi          
Sawasdee (Hello welcome to) Thai Chili. Our warm atmosphere, attentive service, rich culture, and authentic Thai cuisine is what you can find in the contemporary establishment. We are committed to providing a premium experience each and every time you come through the door. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff is here to guide you through the journey of Thailand and its savory cuisine. Free wi-fi is available to our guest. We just ask that you check-in on Facebook to let others know you are visitng with us.

Hours

Sunday: Closed

MondayFriday: 11am8:15pm

Saturday: Closed

  • VISA
  • MasterCard
  • American Express
  • Discover